I got nominated for a Liebster Award!

liebster-award

Earlier this week I was nominated for my first Liebster Award!  Lori of These Days nominated me, so thanks so much to her!  Her positive attitude and thoughts about figuring out life are inspiring.  Check out her blog and the answers to her Liebster Award questions!

Here are my answers to Lori’s 10 Questions:

1. What is your weirdest quirk?

I have quite a few, but I’d say the weirdest is probably my ability to recognize actors from obscure 2000s Disney Channel shows and movies.  I’ll be watching Gilmore Girls and say, “I recognize that guy from somewhere!”  Then, I’ll look him up on Wikipedia and find that his only claim to fame is being in one episode of Hannah Montana.  My memory is kind of weird that way.

2. What is the most embarrassing thing you did as a child?

Jeez, I’ve repressed so many embarrassing moments, it’s hard to think of one.  I do remember, though, being at a birthday party at a Chuck E. Cheese-type place and getting separated from my friends.  Whilst playing an arcade game, I didn’t hear them call over the loudspeaker that the party’s pizza was ready, and when I looked up, all my friends were gone.  I had to ask a stranger for help, and then they called for my mom over the loudspeaker to come and get me.  Turns out, everyone was wondering where I was!  (I probably cried during some of this, which makes it all the more embarrassing.)

3. What is your favorite type of weather?

I love fall, and my favorite weather is when it’s sunny outside but just cool enough to wear a light jacket and boots.

4. What is your favorite summer activity?

Two words: bonfires and s’mores.

5. Who is someone that you have known that really influenced your life?

My Great Aunt Barb has been like a grandmother to me for my entire life.  She’s one of the most caring and knowledgeable people I know, and she’s had a profound impact on me.  She’s shown me the power of sharing stories and the significance of gift-giving.  I’m planning on writing a dual biography of her and my paternal grandmother to compare how their lives were shaped by historical events when they grew up in very different places (the East Coast and Midwest, respectively) but around the same time period.

6. What are the top five things on your bucket list?

I have a pretty extensive bucket list, but a few of my top life goals are: write and publish a novel, travel through Europe, meet Taylor Swift, sing in a band, and see a whale in real life.

7. Where is the coolest place you have traveled to?

I haven’t been to a lot of interesting places yet, but the coolest place I’ve probably been to is the island of Saint Thomas in the Virgin Islands.  I swam in Magens Bay, and it was positively beautiful.

8. Where is a place you would love to travel to?

I hope to study abroad in England during my junior year, but I’ve also recently become obsessed with Paris.  I love the architecture and the fashion, and I’m trying to learn French.  Basically I want to get to as many countries in Europe as possible.

9. If you had to pick a different time period to live in which would you pick?

The 1960s.  During the past year, I’ve become fascinated with the ’60s as an era of vast political and social change.  I’ve been trying to learn what I can from documentaries, historical fiction, and the music of the era.  It was a time when people were becoming more vocal about what they believed in and when people acknowledged the power of people coming together to solve the world’s problems.

10. Why did you start your blog?

I started Narrative Spark this summer to start getting comfortable with putting my voice out there as a writer.  I’m still learning how best to do that, but I’ve really been enjoying being a part of the blogging community and connecting with people.  The positive feedback I’ve received from my family and friends (as well as strangers!) who are reading my blog fills me with joy.

Here are the ten blogs that I’m nominating for the Liebster Award:

Comments Below, My Little Piece of Quiet, Nicole Sundays, A Pinch of Literary Salt, Trials of a College Girl, The Miscellaneist, Amitav Chowdhury, Introverted Freight Train, Reflections of an INFJ, and A Cup of English Tea.

Since I’ve just started my blog a few months ago, I haven’t had the time to grow dedicated to a ton of blogs yet, so some of these blogs are ones that I just checked out today!

Here are the rules:

One- Thank the nominator
Two- Display award in post
Three- Nominate 10 other bloggers
Four- Answer the 10 questions

And here are your ten questions to answer:

1. What social issue do you care about the most?

2. What is a quote that has helped you through a tough time in your life?

3. What was your favorite TV show as a kid?

4. What movie have you seen a thousand times but keep watching again?

5. If you could be any food, what would you be and why?

6. What advice would you give a six-year-old?

7. What is your favorite book from your childhood?

8. Who is your favorite historical figure and why?

9. What is the best advice you have received?

10. What inspired you to start your blog?

Have fun answering the questions!  I can’t wait to hear from you!

Thanks for reading!!

11 thoughts on “I got nominated for a Liebster Award!

  1. Loved reading your answers! Fall and Smores are two of my favorite things! I love your idea about writing a duel biography of your great aunt and grandmother. Have you started writing yet? I would love to read some if you have!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

