My Big List of Summer Plans

I mentioned in a previous post that I’ve compiled a comprehensive list of seventeen different things I want to accomplish during this summer, and now I’d like to share it with you! Maybe my list will inspire you to start a list of your own or accomplish some new things– who knows?

In no particular order:

Summer Plans
This notebook contains my various lists to help me accomplish what I want to get done this summer!

1. Get a job

I still have never had a job, and I’m desperate for the independence that it will give me.  I’ve applied for seven so far within the restaurant-and-retail range, and I’ve been starting the interviewing process recently, which is absolutely terrifying, but also very uplifting.  I’m adulting!!! What!!!!

2. Go on beach trips with my friends

I’m currently planning on going to the Jersey Shore with a few different groups of friends, and I’m really looking forward to the quality time we’ll spend together.

3. Go to concerts

I’ve had plans for seeing three concerts this summer, and I’ve already been to (and written a post about) one– Ed Sheeran!  I can’t wait for the next two: Taylor Swift and Ingrid Michaelson.

4. Go on art museum trips

First semester of college I took a class that involved a lot of trips to New York City to see various art museums, monuments, and landmarks.  When we went to the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), I didn’t get to see much, and my professor gave us all free one-day passes to the Guggenheim Museum.  My mom’s been wanting me to show her around MoMA a bit, so we’re going to make some fun day trips to art museums this summer.

5. Register to vote

I’m going to be able to vote in the next presidential election!! More adulting ahhhh!!!

6. Get my driver’s license

It’s been too dang long.  Having my license will give me even more freedom and the ability to get myself to a potential job every day without my mom having to drive me.  Fingers crossed that I pass my driver’s test next month!

7. Record covers

A couple of my friends from high school and I were known during our time there as “those girls who sing together at everything.”  Over the summer, we’re planning on getting together and recording covers just for kicks!

8.  Hang out with friends

This is a pretty obvious one for everyone during the summer.  I want to spend time with old friends and new and really make my time at home count.

9. Write something every day

It’s seems a bit ridiculous that I’m studying creative writing, yet a lot of the time I just can’t get myself to write!  This summer I have a bunch of writing projects I want to work on: this blog, some biographical stuff, and revisions of my workshop pieces from school.  And I also want to write something completely new (i.e. a short story, part of a story, a poem) at least once a week.

10. Spread kindness

I’ve seen in YouTube videos and read in articles about people who write spontaneous, kind messages on sticky notes and leave them in public places, like on dressing room mirrors and on tables at restaurants.  I want to try out something like this; I also make little origami hearts and flowers that could make it to someone who needed a bit of brightness in their day 🙂

11. Read every day

To be a good writer, you have to read. I’ve finished my First Book of the Summer (and written a post about it), and I can’t wait to get reading some more!

12. Practice piano and ukulele

At home, I have complete access to a piano, so I want to use my time for all it’s worth: learning, memorizing, and writing songs.  I want to do the same for my ukulele, Ricardo, who’s the most wonderful summer boredom companion.

13. Watch:

I like watching Crash Course videos about Psychology, Astronomy, and U.S. Government and Politics so that I can use my time at home to keep learning.  I also want to use Netflix for what it has to offer: documentaries, classic movies (that I somehow haven’t seen), and Disney movies (the few that I SOMEHOW HAVEN’T SEEN I DON’T EVEN KNOW HOW IT’S POSSIBLE HONESTLY).  I also would like to watch some new TV shows, like Younger and Girls (if I can watch them on the Internet).  And most importantly, I am only 10 episodes away from finishing my complete DVD set of Boy Meets World (one of my favorite shows EVER).

14. Make playlists on Spotify

This is kind of a weird hobby of mine, but I’m surprisingly good at making playlists for certain occasions and for other people, and I find it really enjoyable!

15. Daily little things

I have a handful of smaller things to do every day, like learn French on my Duolingo app.

16. Faith

I’m involved in my college’s Catholic Campus Ministry, and I want to do whatever I can to get more involved in my faith life.

17. Health (AKA more adulting)

I’m not the healthiest eater in the world, and I hate exercise (just thinking about running makes me winded), but I’m trying to turn that around.  Keyword: trying.

I know this seems like way too many goals for the summer, but I’ve figured out that making a list at the beginning of each week really helps me to get done what I want to.  I make one list of things I can do daily that week and another of things I can get done during that week.  This way, if I ever feel bored, I can just flip open my notebook and find something to do!

So what do you think?  Do you have any summer goals that are similar to or different from mine?  Let me know in the comments!

Happy June!

Leave a Reply

